The Awakened

Alex Segura (co-writer/co-creator), Michael Moreci (co-writer/co-creator), Dean Kotz (artist/co-creator)
THE AWAKENED is a dark, noir-ish superhero murder mystery that explores what the true definition of power is, and who should wield it. Welcome to a world very much like our own, populated by a small handful of super-beings. The series focuses on a government-sanctioned team of super-heroes, The Freedom Alliance, and their beloved leader Paragon. Though everything seems to be just fine from the outside, the man behind Paragon's mask realizes there are dark forces moving against him, his team, and the world itself. What does it have to do with the disappearance of the insanely-powerful being known as Avatar? When a hero falls, the world is left shaken - and one regular person must make the riskiest decision of their lives to protect the people they care about. A character-driven superhero epic in the vein of The Golden Age, Supreme Power, Black Hammer, and Astro City.
05. Chapter Five

04. Chapter Four

03. Chapter Three

02. Chapter Two

01. Chapter One

THE AWAKENED is a dark, noir-ish superhero murder mystery that explores what the true definition of power is, and who should wield it. Welcome to a world very much like our own, populated by a small handful of super-beings. The series focuses on a government-sanctioned team of super-heroes, The Freedom Alliance, and their beloved leader Paragon. Though everything seems to be just fine from the outside, the man behind Paragon's mask realizes there are dark forces moving against him, his team, and the world itself. What does it have to do with the disappearance of the insanely-powerful being known as Avatar? When a hero falls, the world is left shaken - and one regular person must make the riskiest decision of their lives to protect the people they care about. A character-driven superhero epic in the vein of The Golden Age, Supreme Power, Black Hammer, and Astro City.

Series Credits:
Alex Segura (co-writer/co-creator)
Michael Moreci (co-writer/co-creator)
Dean Kotz (artist/co-creator)
Jason Wordie (colorist)
Jim Campbell (letterer)
Chantelle Aimée Osman (creative consultant)
Brian Cunningham (editor)